cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ECIN
Senior Advisor

First You have to Understand Beans

There has been -- Alot of talk about how the cool weather MAY help the beans -- But this talk comes --in my book -  from people - that don't know Jack about beans = The trade

First off - I'm NO expert on them - so to speak - but have worked with them for 40 plus years and have  done alot of plot work with them .

6 years ago - I had a 60 acre plot of beans - I did and tried just about every combination of insecticides - fungicides and snake oil there was at the time .

The last day of July that year - the top plot - showed a yield potential at that time and date of 107 bpa  - THEN came Aug. - we only received 2 tenths of an inch that month - 2 tenths !

Came time to cut them - the 107 plot made 61 bpa - the whole field plot made 60.5 bpa  - reason ? there was just not enough rain fall to sustain all the extra pod's - beans

Bean roots Do Not grow down to find water like corn roots do - they grow down with the mositure - that being said , if the ground dry's faster than the bean roots go down - well like my good friend DB-51 would say -- there screwed !

Ask Dennis 1 or Hobby what it's like in Kansas - they got 3 inchs of rain then its been dry , the beans that looked SO great 2 weeks ago - are now dieing - there was just not enough mositure in the subsoil when the top soil rain run out .

I guess where I'm headed with this - if they think that cool temps is a rescue - then somebody is  FOS - they need rain to fill pods and seed size !!!!!!!!!!!! 

Here's a nice read from Nebrasba on this subject - just put out on Aug 23 rd .

Have a great day

BTW got this off the Chat " n Chew Cafe

http://cropwatch.unl.edu/web/cropwatch/archive?articleID=5382623

0 Kudos
8 Replies
SteveBD1
Contributor

Re: First You have to Understand Beans