cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor

How have you all...

learned about marketing?

I've been farming for five years in eastern Washington.  I grow corn, beans, and spring wheat.  In the past I've dabbled with looking at blogs and market updates.  I track the price daily with text updates I get from the co-op, but I feel these are all very reactionary.  I'd like to develope a proactive strategy.  So with that, does anyone care to share with me their ideas or strategies on marketing crops?

Appreciate it.  

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

Re: How have you all...

It'll cost you a few bucks, but it might be worth checking into using a marketing advisor.  They could make recomendations on cash sales as well as using futures/options to help you develop a marketing strategy.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor

Is there information they have access to that isn't readily available to everyone?

@Shaggy98 wrote:

It'll cost you a few bucks, but it might be worth checking into using a marketing advisor.  They could make recomendations on cash sales as well as using futures/options to help you develop a marketing strategy.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

Probably not, they just are experienced at looking at charts and historic averages.  Many of them have boots in the pit and may receive information a little sooner.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor

Hmm... I wonder if there is anyway to get some training for that without having to go back and get an AgEcon degree.  I know I'd do it.  Tired of going with the ol' gut feeling.  

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

This website just had a marketing academy last fall, you might sit tight and see if they offer another one in the future.  It wasn't free, but I was told the information was very useful.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Contributor