cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
NCIllinois82
Contributor

Hows a young farmer find more land to rent???

Im a young farmer looking to find more ground to farm but its hard to compete with the large farmers around here. Anyone got any pointers??
0 Kudos
36 Replies
timetippingpt
Honored Advisor

Re: Hows a young farmer find more land to rent???

This will sound boring and old school. You have to find the subgroup of owners who still rent to people not the high rent group who just rent to money. There are thousands of folks out there in the people to people group who would like to help a young guy get going. Maybe not next door to you so you will have to drive a ways. Also, you need to plan for it to take about 5 years. jmo

BF2012
Advisor

Pack Your Bags

and head to South America.

0 Kudos
BF2012
Advisor

Re: Pack Your Bags

or Ukraine

0 Kudos
BF2012
Advisor

Re: Pack Your Bags

or Africa.

0 Kudos
Shaggy98
Senior Advisor

Is there an elder farmer who has no heirs to pass his legacy onto in your neighborhood? If so, offer to help him when he is busy free of charge of course. This won't pay up front, but it just might pay dividends down the road. By working for peanuts now might convey that you are about character and not the almighty dollar. If your neighborhood is anything like mine, the average farmer is not getting any younger and the next generation doesn't seem to be returning. Forming a friendly bond will also open the eyes of other producers in the area who might be looking for a new tenant in the near future as well.

On a second comment, make your acres look absolutely the best they can. The small things really add up, mowing ditches, keeping equipment and vehicles clean and presentable does not go unnoticed. Believe me, when you keep your equipment tuned up the neighbors really notice. Been there, done that.