cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Senior Advisor

I guess the proverbial "sh**t hit the fan today in the Oval Office. About time.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-08-20/trump-seeks-to-allay-farm-state-uproar-in-oval-of...

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-biofuels-trump-exclusive-idUSKCN1VA1V0I

I've been saying for two years now that these exemptions would effectively decouple the connection between the price of ethanol and the price of gasoline.  The evidence that shows that has been clear for almost as long.

I'm only surprised that it took this long for the republicans to understand this and finally say something.

The trump administration talks a good game when it comes to farmers but the reality is quite different.

Add that to the soybean market betrayal and it's a one two knockout punch.

22 Replies
Senior Advisor

Re: I guess the proverbial "sh**t hit the fan today in the Oval Office. About time.

Ya know, I am simply flabbergasted that this administration is so dysfunctional that nobody flagged the really bad politics of the RIN waivers. Other than Mulvaney working furiously to root competence and experience out of government, there isn't anybody in charge.

While the EPA guys are obviously very, very friendly with their former (and future) fossil fuel employers, there were no adults watching the greater picture and considering the political costs. 

I have a similar suspicion about the recent NASS report although at a much lower degree of certainty. With the internal chaos there, you wonder if the staff didn't just say, meh, let's just put out some numbers.

Honored Advisor

Re: I guess the proverbial "sh**t hit the fan today in the Oval Office. About time.