0 Kudos
rayfcom
Senior Contributor

Re: Obviously lows are in grains.

50's

0 Kudos
rayfcom
Senior Contributor

Re: Can you afford to plant $2 corn "straight"?

I'm no expert on agricultural technology, so I have little idea about what can or cannot be invented to lessen the costs of growing corn. But from what i have seen in my lifetime, I have learned that its an expensive lesson to think that the unimaginable cannot happen. I bought my first personal computer in the '90's at a cost of about $3,000, and today just 20 years later I can buy a machine that works 8 times faster for one third of that cost. The first calculators I remember from the '70's were something like $40 and performed four basic math functions. Today you can get a calculator that does many many times the number of functions for what, $5 or less ? I never imagined in 1982 with the Dow Jones Industrial Average at 750 that it ever would trade at 26,000. I have seen crude oil soar to over $145 a barrel, only to be followed by a crash to below $30 a barrel, all the while everyone in the world needed crude oil to heat their homes, run their cars, and provide the plastics they use in everyday life.

Now granted, perhaps for the foreseeable future there is a price level below which growing corn is not sustainable. But in an economic panic when the consumer demand plunges to subsistence levels, its any port in a storm regarding selling consumer products, even foodstuffs. And who knows what kind of machinery or seeds can be developed to lessen the cost of growing and harvesting, reduce the need for labor, or allow plants to grow with less water and soil nutrients ? And who knows how many new corn acres will come online around the world that will cause everyone to take losses against the input costs they endured to grow their crop ?