cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Honored Advisor

This is at least the third time

That as corn prices near $7.50 from the bottom, the locals just do not want a $7.50 price on the board. We have lost 7 cents basis in the last few days as cash price has hovered just under that mark..

Must be a mental block/line in the sand thing for them. As a producer I Have a $8.00 target to start sales. Who is going to blink first?

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Advisor

Re: This is at least the third time

I don't have a target price for corn as mine is all sold.  Half was contracted in the low 8's and the rest I sold off the combine at 7.40's.  When I do set a target price I don't use round numbers like $8.00 or 7.50 as most others do also, which may be why corn is struggling now.  If I wanted 8 bucks like you do I would sell at $7.89 and above.

0 Kudos
Senior Advisor

That is a very valid point NWOBCW, a few years back I was holding out for a $9.00 wheat sale.  The price moved within a dime of my target and I didn't pull the trigger.  That dime eventually cost me over $2.00.

0 Kudos
Honored Advisor

Corn is $7.70 this morning at a local ethanol plant.....$7.38 at a local elevator......It appears that ethanol plants are still making some money.   Domestic demand for the corn that is left appears to be continuing.

0 Kudos
Senior Advisor

Tiger 1 - That's a dang good point you made ! If you look at the percentage of corn used in the US , that would be some where around 32% -- of the supply on hand  , in the first quarter , with exports at close to a record low , then what's that tell yah ? Domestic use is the driver here with feed and corn for ethanol , years agoit was the other way around , wasn't it ?

Honored Advisor