cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Senior Contributor

our markets have left

have to with Richard Brock on agribusiness this week when he asked what is the long  range plan for ag now that our market has been handed over to SA? He also said Ukraine was a nonexistant player 10 years ago but now have 17% of global sales. We have exported so much of our ag technologies we have destroyed our market share in the name of profit. He had no  answer to getting our markets back.   I’ve been a farmer and a retail store owner for most of my life and one thing is for sure if u upset a customer they wont be back for a long time and maybe never! Unless u are the only one that has what they want or you’re selling at firesale prices and losing your butt! I dont like that solution.         Its one thing when we produce too much and prices collapse but when our markets are destroyed by outside forces it blind sided me. Yes i know the president warned about the trade deficit and tariffs but wasnt sure how it would affect us now i do!  Unless there is a mega drought somewhere else things wont change til population outstrips production. 

0 Kudos
26 Replies
Honored Advisor

Re: our markets have left

Farming has gotten so easy that a robot can do it  Smiley Happy  Well idiots that used to plant so crooked that it took 90 acres worth of seed to plant a 80 now plant straight as a string and that`s all technology off the shelf.  Our "factories" have no walls, there`s a old saying "competition is good for business" I agree with that so long as your competition is your 2nd cousin or at least on a level playing field, which is seldom the case in global trade.