cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor

Technology Questions from a College Student

Hey everyone, I'm new to this forum and hoping I can get some help. I'm a sophomore in college, studying Crop Sciences. I'm currently taking a class in AgriBusiness. We've been asked to learn about various farming techniques and topics and then report on our findings. I don't have many farming contacts, so I thought I'd ask my questions online. I’ll break my questions up into a few different posts. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

PLANTING

1. Does anyone use any technology (programs or software) for any part of preparing your machines for planting season? Are you sending data to and from your machines? If so, what do you send? How? When?
  2. I’ve done some research and learned about something called Configuration Files for machines. Is anyone using these? What do these files include? How do they get created and when does that usually happen? Do they usually change from year to year?
  3. Lastly, how many fields do you have? How many of those fields typically have more than one hybrid?

PRESCRIPTIONS

1. I’ve also done some research on prescriptions, but am still learning. Is anyone currently using prescriptions? If so, what kind? Does this ever change?
  2. Are you creating your prescriptions or is someone else? What is this process like? When do they write a prescription for the next season? What happens once they are created? How long does that process take for each prescription? 
  3. Do you only use a prescription in one field or do you use the same prescription for multiple fields? How do you know which fields to put the prescription in? Who decides this?
  4. Once a prescription is done, how often does it change? How do you make changes? What happens when changes are made?
  5. Do your prescriptions change from year to year, or do they stay the same?
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Highlighted
Senior Advisor