cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Honored Advisor

Re: DNA testing

Jump to solution

Are you guys referring to the big Black Angus database of sires?  I wonder how well that will work.

0 Kudos
Senior Contributor

Jump to solution

Kay,

They already do DNA testing to register horses so it shouldn't be to different on cattle I would think.  I have no experience in that area but it's just a thought.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Honored Advisor

Jump to solution
We attended a meeting last fall where the company that does the Black Angus testing was touting the product/ process. Ican see where it would matter to some people. Not to others. We are commercial, so not as big a deal to us.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Advisor

Jump to solution

I don't think I would bet the farm on the results or my several thousand $$$$ purchase on this venture - lots of BIG hats with information on screens - our experience left many unanswered questions that on paper didn't quite fit - just saying ---  

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Senior Contributor

Jump to solution

There are several levels of DNA testing that we do in the cattle industry now.   When a bull goes into AI stud or a cow becomes a donor, they have to be DNA tested and parentage verified.   Not all registries require this but most do.  .   There is testing to see if they carry any of the genetic defects - this is required on any suspect lines if an animal is to be registered in most association - once they are found to be clear, that goes into the data base.  You can test to find the genetic status of polled, color,carcass traits.  Each test you add costs more of course so you have to decide if it is worth it to you.