cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jvinson98
Friend

Looking for fiction books about modern farm family

I am a student in a college literature class and have to read ten books as part of a project on a chosen subject.  My subject is the modern farm family.  Does anyone out there have any suggestions for modern farm family fiction novels, such as Jane Smiley's A Thousand Acres.  I would really like to use this subject, but am afraid I will not find enough books about it.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Kay/NC
Advisor

Re: Looking for fiction books about modern farm family

That one was my first thought.  I heard a discussion last week on NPR about Wendell Berry's Hannah Coulter, bought it that day, but haven't had a chance to read it for period setting yet...it is on point for subject matter, though.  It is about a family and farm succession, as is Smiley's in a sad, sick way. 

We've discussed several titles in this genre' here in the past...I recommend Breaking Clean by Judy Blunt highly; but it, like most books about farm families, is more a memoir.  There are tons of those out there.  I saw one called The Dirty Life (also a memoir) last week, and enjoyed Better Off, Five Acres and a Poodle, Windbreak, Making Hay (by Verlyn Klinkinborg, who has written several rural life titles in this general vein), and several more whose titles escape me right this second. 

If you can utilize memoir instead of just fiction, I think you will find a wealth of material.  I tried a search for titles on amazon, but most that came back were nonfiction, again mostly memoirs.  Gene Logsdon had one novel, and with Berry's and Smiley's that makes three decent writers so far.