cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Senior Contributor

Proud moment for me today

I just paid the last installment on my student loans!!!!  I am now studen loan free!  I'm so excited.  I graduated in May of 1999 and yes I should have had them paid off a long time ago but I was stupid about money and responsibilities and got behind and what not.  Anyways, I got back on the right track and was down to my last loan to pay off and I did it today.  I took a little bit from the Dave Ramsey Financial Freedom thinking and had paid off 1 and then took that payment and paid additional on another and so forth until I was down to my last one.  I knew I had a payment coming up on the 2nd so I looked at my balance and I only had $227.31 left.  Since I was paying $200 a month anyways (even though my payment was suppose to only be $50) I went ahead and paid it all off.  According to my account I was paid ahead until Dec. 2016 as it was.  I'm so happy and it's a great feeling to know that I was able to get things back where they should have been in the first place.  I can honestly say that Todd and I have come a long ways on repairing our credit and we can only blame ourselves for our stupidity. 

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Senior Contributor

Re: Proud moment for me today

Congratulations! It is a good feeling to get one less creditor envel to ope out of your mailbox, isn't it? Education of all kinds is usually the expensive kind. Try to remember the experience every time you make a big purchase. It's always a scarey thought when you sign the line to a loan, unless you have a plan to repay it without penalty.

0 Kudos
Honored Advisor

Congratulations! Great feeling.
0 Kudos
Advisor

Congrats!
0 Kudos
Advisor

Proud of you.   Way to go.  

0 Kudos
Senior Contributor

congratulations

Student loans another hot topic.