cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Honored Advisor

What was your dream job?

Watching Jack Hanna this morning, and thinking about our friend ho is the bird guru, a very similar man in many respects. To think of traveling the world to collect eggs, working to preserve and protect endangered species, is critical work.

For some reason, this triggered a memory of what I used to dream of becoming when I was a teenager. For several years, I read everything I could lay my hands on about archaeology...i can literally remember dreaming about scratching in the soil for remnants of an earlier culture.

Somehow, even though one of the universities in our region had an excellent program, and I was easily qualified for admission there, I ended up in teachers' college. I remember the specific meeting with my parents and the guidance counselor. What I don't remember is whether or not I was asked what I wanted to do for a living.

Has me thinking this morning: What was your dream job when you were growing up? Did you plan to be doing what you do today?
0 Kudos
21 Replies
Advisor

Re: What was your dream job?

Ballerina. That didn't work out.

Never planned to be working with welfare recipients or felons. Love my job.

Just got hired as an adjunct faculty member at our community college. THAT is my dream retirement job. Still pinching myself that I will be teaching Marketing this Fall Semester! If I am successful I should be able to teach there for many years, keeping me engaged and occupied after I leave full time employment. What a blessing.
0 Kudos
Senior Contributor

That is great news, I am happy for you.

0 Kudos
Honored Advisor

Wonderful news on the faculty assignment. So many teaching positions seem to be adjuncts now.

They are lucky to have you.
0 Kudos
Senior Contributor

Congratulations!!  sounds like a perfect match!