cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going NUTS at Kirsch Family Farms!

Brenda_Frketich
Senior Reader
0 0 2,417

Our final harvest has begun and boy does it feel good to be on a solid homestretch to November...November means there is finally time to sit and have a cup of coffee without a million things to get done before the weather turns!  I am looking forward to November!

But until then we have a bit more to do on the farm.  One big thing to get finished up is hazelnut harvest.  We farm about 75 acres of nuts right now, and have another 25 in the ground that will be producing in about 3 years.  Planting an orchard is not only an investment financially, but it is also an investment in patience.  As a farmer I am used to planting a crop and having it produce for me within the year.  With orchards you can have them in the ground for anywhere from 3 to 6 years before they really start to show their abilty to prove their worth.  All the whie you are putting inputs in to make them grow strong so they can be a healthy tree for your farm for generations. 

We just started harvest 2 days ago and it has been going well.  It started out very dry this year, so the dust was thick.  Then the rain finally came falling down yesterday, the second day of fall, in true Oregon fashion.  Things turned slippery pretty fast, but we pushed through and finished a very good chunk of our orchards.  As a farmer we usually ask for rain, but we ask for a very specific amount of rain, specific to timing and amount...basically we wish we had more control!  We are hoping for just enough rain to settle the dust, but not enough to make it slick out, but enough to make the rest of the nuts fall, but not enough to make us have to wait a week to harvest (you get the idea)...just another battle with Mother Nature.