About the Author
  • I am an online content editor for Successful Farming/Agriculture.com and Living the Country Life, but my full-time job is raising three boys on a small farm in south-central Iowa.
Announcements
Please read the forum guidelines. Please post, reply, read, and view our tutorials to learn all about our new forums and features.
Labels

Media Tips for Avian Influenza and Beyond

by MNGobbleGal on ‎04-28-2015 07:14 PM

My work life and in many regards, my personal life, has been consumed by avian influenza these days.

Avian flu. Bird flu. Call it whatever you want - it's certainly in the news in a big way.

This dreaded virus - a super potent strain new to the U.S. that is deadly to poultry - has been making the rounds through Minnesota turkey flocks since late March, and has since hit various midwest states and latched on to egg layer hens and backyard flocks as well. All with devastating effects.

One of my roles as Communications Director of the Minnesota Turkey Growers Association is to handle all initial media requests and inquiries that come in. I talk with reporters and editors, get a handle on what they are looking for, and schedule interviews (as needed) with the appropriate people.

During this avian flu surge, this has been no easy task and I'm sometimes amazed, actually, at how much time I spend on a daily basis handling these requests. Not surprisingly, the media has been relentless in the pursuit of this story. The coverage, overall, has been very fair and mostly accurate - but multiple requests come in daily, even on weekends, and reporters everywhere want to know the same thing poultry farmers want to know - how is this virus infecting flocks?

Media Requests File.jpg